UK Neutrino-Nucleus Interaction Workshop (NuIntUK)

Queen Mary University of London, Mile End campus, G. O. Jones building Lecture Theater

10:00 - 18:00, July 20 (Mon.), 2015

Registration link is here

This is a workshop dedicated to understand neutrino interactions. Understanding of neutrino interactions is important for all neutrino experiments, from oscillation search to astrophysics. Here, experts from different experiments get together to share their experiences to tackle on key problems. Detector and analysis challenges from past and current experiments (MINOS, T2K, NOvA) are very beneficial for future experiments (MicroBooNE, PINGU, Hyper-Kamiokande, DUNE).

On the other hand, there is a growing demands to nuclear physics community to help understanding on neutrino interactions. Open questions in neutrino physics might be 30 years old problem in nuclear physics community!

Therefore, the goal of this workshop is to communicate and interact with people beyond projects, experiments, theories to exchange information about neutrino cross-sections. The potential outcome include a possibility to form a coherent effort to solve neutrino interaction open problems in UK.

 9:30-10:00 coffee
10:00-10:20 MiniBooNE experiments (Teppei Katori)
10:20-10:40 T2K near detector measurements (Sam Short)
10:40-11:10 Current issues in neutrino interaction physics (Steve Boyd)
11:10-11:30 Discussion
11:30-11:40 coffee
11:40-12:10 Liquid Argon Time Projection Chamber (Matt Bass)
12:10-12:40 Nuclear Effect-Independent Reconstruction of Energy Spectra of Neutrino Beams (Xianguo Lu)
13:00-14:00 Lunch
14:00-14:30 Current issues in neutrino interaction physics (Jarek Nowak)
14:30-14:50 Neutrino interaction physics for oscillation analysis (Patrick Stowell)
14:50-15:20 Discussion
15:20-15:30 coffee
15:30-15:50 Gas argon TPC measurement (Pip Hamilton)
15:50-16:10 Gadolinium doped water Cherenkov detector (Dave Hadley)
16:10-16:50 Discussion
16:50-17:00 closing remarks
17:00-           Pub, Palm tree?       

Participant List:
Matt Mottram
Vlad Iancu
Luke Pickering
Tom Dealtry            
David Hadley
Dominic Brailsford
Stephen Dolan
Matthew Lawe           
Pierre Lasorak
Georgios Christodoulou
David Coplowe
Clarence Wret          
Xianguo Lu
Sophie King
Sam Short
Gabriela Pomery       
Nick Prouse
Yoshi Uchida
Maien Binjonaid        
Patrick Stowell
Victoria Blackmore
Wing Yan Ma
Fairbairn Malcolm      
Daniel Saunders
Chris Oliver
Jaroslaw Nowak         
Lilian Chabrol
Teppei Katori
Michele Cascella
Matthew Bass            
Roxanne Guenette
Raj Shah
Jacob Calcutt
Per Jonsson
Patrick Cooney
Thibault Schaep

Figure: Neutrino interaction event display from ArgoNeuT experiment, JINST7(2012)P10019

Sponsored by Institute of Physics (IoP) high energy particle physics (HEPP) group and nuclear physics (NP) group, and Queen Mary University of London